Bluegrass in Jerusalem?

I think a quick update is in order. Perhaps I would have already made one, if I had done many interesting things. Overall, it’s been a standard college existence for the past little while, with papers and midterm week happening. I sporadically meet talented piano players in the piano room in Rothberg school, which is cool, and yeah really I haven’t done much lately.

The one perhaps noteworthy thing that I did do, as the title suggests, was attend a bluegrass concert, that a friend of a friend was playing in. (A friend of a friend from back home; in fact, the person also hails from the most lovely state of North Carolina.) It was indeed a weird feeling to walk into a discreet building (I got lost trying to find it) somewhere on the streets of Jerusalem, to hear bluegrass music, southern accents and “Take Me Home Country Roads”. (Bluegrass edition) But it was altogether refreshing, and reminiscent of home, even though ironically that’s not the music I listen to at home. Thanks for reading, more to come when there’s more to say!

Too bad the quality isn’t better, filmed by yours truly!

1 Kings 19:4-9 (about Elijah)

But he himself went a day’s journey into the wilderness, and came and sat down under a solitary broom tree. He asked that he might die: “It is enough; now, O Lord, take away my life, for I am no better than my ancestors.” Then he lay down under the broom tree and fell asleep. Suddenly an angel touched him and said to him, “Get up and eat.” He looked, and there at his head was a cake baked on hot stones, and a jar of water. He ate and drank, and lay down again. The angel of the Lord came a second time, touched him, and said, “Get up and eat, otherwise the journey will be too much for you.” He got up, and ate and drank; then he went in the strength of that food forty days and forty nights to Horeb the mount of God. At that place he came to a cave, and spent the night there.

Leave a comment